I was just reading an article from The New York Times online. 

The title of the article: What is it about 20-somethings? 

The question posed by the article: Why aren’t 20-s0methings growing up?

The article goes on for about 10 dreary and condescending pages.  It cites several examples of why 20-somethings aren’t actually adults.  The one that jumped out at me is that, apparently, there are women in their 20s who are neither wives nor mothers.

Speaking as a single, childless 24 year-old woman, I found it very interesting that my desire to live my own life is somehow the equivalent of refusing to grow up.

Anyway, I’m not going to waste 10 pages answering this question.  The answer does not require 1o pages.

At most, it requires one sentence.

If 20-something aren’t growing up, it’s probably because we’ve seen the results of a world run by people so insecure that they’ve somehow managed to equate maturity with blind conformity.

What is it about 20-somethings?

We’re just trying to survive in the world that’s been forced upon us.

I may or I may not know everything about being a grown-up.

But I do know there’s more to life (especially my life) then just making sure all the right boxes are checked.

