Well, Halloween is over and, with it, October 2010 is now a piece of history.  It’s hard to believe that it’s almost 2011.  It’s even harder for me to believe that, in a week and one day, I will be 25 years old.  Bleh and Agck!  That’s something I don’t want to think about.  When I was still young and innocent, I always used to think of anyone over the age of 25 as being so old.  I mean, 25 means adulthood.  Ideally, 25 means that you’re now a member of society as opposed to being a ward of society.

And I want nothing to do with it.

I was tempted to tell everyone to just ignore my birthday but, hopefully, they know better than that because as much as I hate the idea of getting older, I love the idea of presents.  Since I’ve ruled out the idea of ignoring my birthday, perhaps now would be a good time for me to just start obsessing on the past and remembering when I was still young and full of hope.

For instance, I may handle my birthday by telling everyone what a wonderful Halloween I had way back in October of 2010.  Yes, I can remember that Halloween as if it was yesterday.  I can remember my friend Jeff picking me up that night.  He was a doctor and I was a zombie.  Even today, I can still remember the party we went to and how so many old friends were happy to see us and embrace us and we all laughed and drank and danced and flirted as if we had all the time in the world.  Ah, those long-distant memories of yesterday.  If I think about it long enough, I swear my ears still feel like they’re recovering from spending too much time near the gigantic speakers that vibrated with an almost tribal quality as they broadcast the music that kept the party going late into the night. 

And how could I ever forget the moment during that magical night when I smiled as coyly as one can while made up as a corpse and I said, “How about a little necrophilia?”  Yes, I had been waiting five years for an excuse to use that line outside of a morgue or mortuary-setting and finally, on that night, the stars just came together and the moment was right.

(That line, by the way, is from a movie called Brazil, which is actually quite good.  Another thing I have in common with Brazil is that we were both released in 1985.)

Little did I know, back then, that there could only be one Halloween, 2010.  And now, older and wiser, I look back at it and I only wish I had appreciated it as much back then as I do now.

Halloween, 2010.

I can remember it like it was yesterday.

